Skip to main content

Rothschild Prize Instructions

Application information

The deadline for receipt of all nominations is December 11, 2020. (We will accept books with a 2020 publication date that are published after December 11, as long as they are received no later than January 15, 2021. Please contact the chair of the prize committee at [email protected] prior to the December 11, 2020 deadline if you plan to submit a book after December 11.)

The name of the winner will be announced as part of the  25th Annual ASN World Convention, to be held virtually May 6-8, 2021. 

Rules of Eligibility

Rules of eligibility for the Joseph Rothschild Prize in Nationalism and Ethnic Studies are as follows: 

·    The copyright date inside the book must list 2020 as the date of publication.

·    Authors may be of any nationality as long as the work is published in English. 

·    Works may deal with any area of Russia, Eastern Europe, or Eurasia (including the Balkans, Central Europe, the Baltics, Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova, Central Asia, the Caucasus, Turkey, Afghanistan, and China). Theoretical works on ethnicity and nationalism that are relevant to the region will also be considered. 

·    The competition is open to works of scholarship in any field, so long as substantial attention is paid to the study of nationalism and/or ethnicity, broadly defined.

·    Edited volumes, textbooks, bibliographies, and reference works are ineligible.

·    Books by currently serving judges of the Joseph Rothschild Prize in Nationalism and Ethnic Studies, or by immediate family members of this group, are not eligible.

2021 Joseph Rothschild Book Prize Committee

The winner of the 2021 Joseph Rothschild Prize in Nationalism and Ethnic Studies will be chosen by the following scholars: 

Dmitry Gorenburg, Harvard University; Committee Chair (mailing address):
Dmitry Gorenburg
178 Richardson Dr
Needham, MA 02492

Florian Bieber, University of Graz (mailing address):
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Florian Bieber
Professor of Southeast European History and Politics
Center for Southeast European Studies
University of Graz
Schubertstrasse 21
A-8010 Graz

Eleanor Knott, LSE (mailing address):
Eleanor Knott
Department of Methodology,
London School of Economics,
Houghton Street,

Sarah Cameron, University of Maryland-College Park (mailing address): 
Department of History
University of Maryland-College Park
2115 Francis Scott Key Hall
College Park, MD 20742

Nominating Instructions

Send one copy of each eligible monograph to each Committee member (see addresses above) AND to the ASN office at: 

Rothschild Book Prize Nomination
c/o Roland Spickermann
Book Review Editor, Nationalities Papers
Dept. of History
University of Texas - Permian Basin
4901 East University
Odessa TX  79762-0001  USA

Nominations must be received no later than December 11, 2020. (We will accept books with a 2020 publication date that are published after December 11, as long as they are received no later than January 15, 2021.)

Submissions should be clearly marked “Rothschild Book Prize Nomination.” If you would like to receive an acknowledgment that your nomination was received, please enclose with the copy mailed to the ASN office a note with your e-mail address or a self-addressed stamped envelope or a postcard.